Fire classes

Posted on August 10, 2012 in News

In firefighting, fires are identified according to one or more fire classes. Each class designates the fuel involved in the fire, and thus the most appropriate extinguishing agent. The classifications allow selection of extinguishing agents along lines of effectiveness at putting the type of fire out, as well as avoiding unwanted side-effects. For example, non-conductive extinguishing agents are rated for electrical fires, so to avoid electrocuting the firefighter.

Multiple classification systems exist, with different designations for the various classes of fire. The United States uses the NFPA system. Europe use the European Standard “Classification of fires” (EN 2:1992, incorporating amendment A1:2004). Australasia uses yet another.

We have decided that it is best to use the Asian\Australian designation because it is much simpler

Ordinary combustibles Class A
Flammable liquids Class B
Flammable gases Class C
Combustible metals Class D
Electrical equipment Class E
Cooking oil or fat Class F